Best Forex Brokers in the UAE: Regulators, Costs and Access
A search for the best forex broker in the UAE is usually a search for a list. The list is the least useful part of the answer, because two people can open an account with the same brand on the same day and end up under different regulators, with different leverage ceilings and different protections over their money.
What decides that is the legal entity signing the client agreement, and the regulator behind it. A resident can be onboarded onshore, inside a financial free zone, or offshore, and the three are not variations of one thing.
This page maps the three regimes, shows what four real entities publish about their own terms, and gives the check that settles which one would hold a given account.
Key takeaways
- The federal securities regulator now publishes as the Capital Market Authority at uaecma.gov.ae. The older Securities and Commodities Authority name does not appear on its own home page, checked 1 September 2026, while broker comparison pages and regulator explainers still use it.
- The Dubai Financial Services Authority is the regulator of the Dubai International Financial Centre, and the Financial Services Regulatory Authority is the regulator of Abu Dhabi Global Market. Neither is a federal body, and comparison tables routinely flatten several licences held by one brand into a single regulator cell.
- Leverage follows the entity, not the brand. Trading Point MENA Limited, licensed by the DFSA, publishes a ceiling of 1:30, while XM Global Limited, licensed in Belize, publishes up to 1:1000. Both trade under the same brand.
- Minimum deposits at the four entities compared here run from no minimum to 10,000 dollars, and the figure depends on the account type as much as on the firm.
- Two of the four publish no spread figure at all, so a comparison table built from advertised spreads would be comparing one disclosed number against two blanks.
Table of contents
- Which Regulator Actually Holds Your Account
- What Each UAE Licence Covers, and What It Does Not
- Four Entities, Four Sets of Terms
- Using an Offshore Broker From the UAE
- What Starting Costs Look Like at Each Entity
- Checking a Broker Permission Yourself
- When a UAE-Licensed Broker Is the Wrong Choice
- Frequently Asked Questions
Which Regulator Actually Holds Your Account
Three separate regimes operate in the UAE, and a broker can be licensed under one, two or none of them while still marketing to residents.
The federal regime covers the country outside the financial free zones. Its securities regulator now publishes under the name Capital Market Authority, at uaecma.gov.ae. On that home page, checked on 1 September 2026, the older name Securities and Commodities Authority does not appear once.
That matters here because the name is the search term. Comparison pages, regulator explainers and broker disclosure pages still write Securities and Commodities Authority, and a reader who takes that name to the register is starting from a label the authority itself has stopped using.
The second and third regimes are the free zones, and they are geographic rather than national. The Dubai International Financial Centre is regulated by the Dubai Financial Services Authority. Abu Dhabi Global Market is regulated by its Financial Services Regulatory Authority.
Both free zones sit inside the UAE and neither regulator is federal. This is the distinction the comparison tables lose. One page ranking in the top ten for this query lists nine regulators in a single cell for one brand, including both the older and the current name of the federal authority as though they were two separate bodies, then prints one minimum deposit and one spread figure beside them.
The entity that signs the agreement decides which single supervisor applies, and the terms follow that entity rather than the brand.
What Each UAE Licence Covers, and What It Does Not
A licence is a permission to do named activities for named categories of client. It is not a general endorsement, and reading it as one is how any licensed firm starts to look equivalent to any other.
An onshore licence from the federal authority is issued by category. Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC holds a Category 1 licence numbered 20200000026 and a Category 5 licence numbered 20200000352, under commercial register 1642447. The category numbers, not the word licensed, are what describe the permitted activity.
A free-zone licence is issued by the free-zone regulator and is read the same way. Amana Financial Services (Dubai) Limited holds DFSA licence F003269, recorded as the primary entity for clients in the region. Trading Point MENA Limited holds DFSA reference F003484 under DIFC registration 3273.
What none of these licences do is follow the brand. A group can hold an onshore licence, a free-zone licence and an offshore licence at once, and the terms attached to each are set separately.
Four Entities, Four Sets of Terms
The table below compares four entities that onboard clients in or from the UAE. Each row is one dimension a reader can act on, and every cell either carries a figure from the entity own published terms or reads Not disclosed.
Not disclosed is a finding rather than a gap. Two of these four publish no spread figure at all, and dropping the row would hide that the comparison cannot be made.
| Dimension | Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC | Amana Financial Services (Dubai) Limited | Trading Point MENA Limited | XM Global Limited |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regulator and reference | Capital Market Authority, onshore. Category 1 licence 20200000026, Category 5 licence 20200000352 | DFSA, DIFC. Licence F003269 | DFSA, DIFC. Reference F003484, DIFC registration 3273 | Financial Services Commission, Belize. Licence 8557558 |
| Maximum leverage published | Up to 1:500, fixed per instrument. 1:500 on EURUSD, GBPUSD, USDJPY and gold, 1:100 on USDCHF, 1:50 on exotics. The firm own pages conflict, with an FAQ stating 1:400 on selected products | Major forex 25x on Core, 100x on Plus, 200x on Max. The firm own pages conflict, with a currencies page stating up to 100x | Up to 1:30, dependent on the instrument | Up to 1:1000 |
| Minimum deposit | No minimum on Classic, 100 dollars on Standard, from 3,000 dollars on Premier | Not disclosed. The firm own pages conflict, one stating no minimum is required and another carrying no minimum-deposit text at all | 5 dollars on Ultra Low and Professional | 5 dollars on Standard and Ultra Low, 10,000 dollars on Shares |
| EURUSD spread published | Zero pips on Premier, 1.4 pips on Standard, described as typical during the London and New York sessions | Not disclosed. No spread figure is published for any pair | Not disclosed | Not disclosed. The only claim is a general from 0.8 pips, not attributed to a pair or an account type |
| Commission | Zero on Classic, Standard and Micro. 3.5 dollars per lot per side on Premier | Zero on standard pricing, and a commission may apply on Raw pricing. No per-lot figure is published | Not disclosed | Not disclosed for this entity. The client agreement refers to a commission schedule inside the platform |
| Withdrawal fees | 1 percent capped at 30 dollars on most methods, zero on domestic bank transfer, 30 dollars on international bank transfer | No withdrawal fee is published. The amount received may fall through exchange-rate difference or the client own bank charges | Not disclosed | Not disclosed. One reading found a marketing claim of no fees and another found no published fee schedule |
| Swap-free account | Swap Free Mini, with no swap or administration fee provided deposits do not exceed 25,000 dollars, on Standard and Premier under MetaTrader 5 | None published. The app tags Shariah-compliant assets, and overnight charges remain on leveraged products | Not disclosed for this entity | Offered as a standard option on all accounts |
| Inactivity fee | Not published | Not published | Not disclosed for this entity | Not disclosed for this entity. A 5 dollars per month charge appears in the European and UK entity documents only |
Broker figures verified against each broker own published terms on 26 July 2026. Regulator names, licence references and registers checked on 1 September 2026.
Read across the leverage row rather than down it. Trading Point MENA Limited and XM Global Limited carry the same brand to a reader, and the published ceilings are 1:30 and 1:1000. The difference is the regulator, and it is decided at onboarding rather than chosen later.
Using an Offshore Broker From the UAE
The legality question is usually answered in one word and then dropped. Trading is lawful for residents, and that says nothing about what happens when something goes wrong.
The practical distinction is redress. An account held by an entity licensed onshore or in a free zone sits inside a UAE supervisory framework, with a named regulator holding a register entry and a complaints route. An account held by an offshore entity sits under the regime that issued that licence.
XM Global Limited is the clearest illustration in the table above. It is licensed by the Financial Services Commission in Belize under licence 8557558, and the entity documentation records it as serving the Middle East. A resident onboarded there is a Belize-regulated client living in the UAE.
That is not automatically the wrong outcome, and the leverage row shows why some readers choose it deliberately. What it is not is the same product with a different logo.
What Starting Costs Look Like at Each Entity
Cost tied to a licence behaves differently from cost quoted in isolation, because the leverage ceiling changes how much capital a position needs.
Two of the four entities publish a five dollar minimum. One publishes a tiered structure beginning with no minimum on its Classic account and rising to 3,000 dollars on Premier. The fourth publishes conflicting statements and therefore appears as Not disclosed.
The spread row is the one that resists comparison. Only Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC publishes a pair-level figure, at zero pips on Premier and 1.4 pips on Standard for EURUSD. The remaining three publish nothing for EURUSD that is attributed to an account type.
Where a firm publishes no spread, trading cost cannot be compared before opening an account. Any table showing a number there has taken it from somewhere other than the firm own terms.
Checking a Broker Permission Yourself
The check takes a few minutes and does not depend on any comparison page, including this one.
Start by finding the entity name rather than the brand. It appears in the client agreement and in the small print at the foot of the broker own site.
Then take that name to the register that matches the regime it claims. Onshore firms appear in the public registers of the Capital Market Authority at uaecma.gov.ae. Firms claiming the Dubai free zone appear in the DFSA public register. Firms claiming Abu Dhabi Global Market appear in the ADGM public registers, which the Financial Services Regulatory Authority maintains.
Two mismatches are worth acting on. The entity named in the agreement differs from the entity named in the licence claim, or the licence reference belongs to a different activity category than the service being offered.
Neither is proof of wrongdoing, and both are reasons to ask which entity would hold the account before funding it.
When a UAE-Licensed Broker Is the Wrong Choice
A locally licensed account is not the right answer for every reader, and the cases where it is not are specific rather than general.
Consider a trader running a strategy that depends on high leverage on major pairs. Under Trading Point MENA Limited the published ceiling is 1:30, so a position that requires 1:200 to be viable cannot be opened at that entity at all. The strategy does not become riskier under the local licence, it becomes impossible, and choosing the licence without checking the ceiling wastes the funding step.
Consider a reader whose main requirement is a swap-free account. Amana Financial Services (Dubai) Limited publishes none, and tags Shariah-compliant assets in its app while overnight charges continue on leveraged products. A reader who selects that entity on the strength of its DFSA licence, and assumes swap treatment follows, has selected on the wrong attribute.
Consider a reader depositing a small amount to learn. A Premier account beginning at 3,000 dollars buys a zero-pip spread that a trader placing one position a month will never recover through, while the Classic account at the same firm has no minimum at all.
In each case the fix is the same, and it is not to choose a different brand. It is to identify the one attribute the account is actually being chosen for, then read that attribute at the entity level before the regulator name enters the decision.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is forex trading legal for residents of the UAE?
Yes. Residents can trade online, and the question that carries more weight is which entity is permitted to take the other side of the trade. An account can be held onshore under the federal regime, inside the Dubai International Financial Centre or Abu Dhabi Global Market, or by an entity licensed outside the UAE entirely, and the protections differ across the three.
Which regulator licenses a broker operating in the UAE?
It depends on where the entity sits. The federal securities regulator, which now publishes as the Capital Market Authority, covers firms outside the financial free zones. The Dubai Financial Services Authority regulates the Dubai International Financial Centre, and the Financial Services Regulatory Authority regulates Abu Dhabi Global Market. Neither free-zone regulator is a federal body.
Is the Securities and Commodities Authority the same body as the Capital Market Authority?
The federal securities regulator publishes under the name Capital Market Authority at uaecma.gov.ae, and the older name does not appear on that home page, checked on 1 September 2026. Comparison pages and broker disclosures still use the earlier name, so a reader may meet both while looking at the same authority.
Can a UAE resident open an account with an offshore broker?
It happens routinely, and the leverage ceilings are usually why. The consequence is that supervision and any complaint route sit with the regulator that issued the offshore licence rather than with a UAE authority, so the register to check and the body to complain to are both outside the country.
How can a broker UAE licence be verified?
Find the legal entity name in the client agreement, then search that exact name in the register matching the regime it claims: the Capital Market Authority registers for onshore firms, the DFSA public register for the Dubai free zone, and the ADGM public registers for Abu Dhabi. A brand name alone is not enough, because one group can hold several licences under several entity names.
Sources checked 1 September 2026: Capital Market Authority, home page at uaecma.gov.ae, for the name under which the federal securities regulator now publishes and for its public registers. Abu Dhabi Global Market, Financial Services Regulatory Authority section, for the identity of the ADGM regulator and its public registers. Broker figures are taken from the EasyTradeWeb broker verification record compiled from each firm own published terms on 26 July 2026, covering Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC, Amana Financial Services (Dubai) Limited, Trading Point MENA Limited and XM Global Limited, and every figure marked as conflicting or unpublished at that source appears here as Not disclosed rather than as a number. No spread, commission, leverage or minimum-deposit figure on this page was taken from any comparison or review site.
Disclaimer: This article is educational only and is not investment advice. Trading forex and CFDs carries a high risk of losing money rapidly because of leverage, and losses can exceed the initial deposit. A regulator licence does not reduce the market risk carried by any position. Regulator names, licence references, spreads, minimum deposits and fees change, and the figures here carry the dates on which they were read. Verify current terms directly with the entity that would hold your account, and with its regulator, before opening one.
