CFD Trading Explained: Costs, Leverage and the Real Risks

A contract for difference is a simple instrument described badly. Most explanations open with a worked example showing a large gain on a small deposit, then treat the costs and the restrictions as footnotes.

The order is backwards. Three numbers govern a CFD position, and most published examples name only one of them. Financing is charged on a base that guides rarely state. And in several major markets the instrument is not available to retail clients at all, for reasons worth understanding before opening an account anywhere else.

What follows sets out the mechanics, the full cost structure, the jurisdiction question, and what the loss statistics quoted on every broker site actually mean. Because a CFD counts as a complex instrument, opening a position also brings a client into the knowledge and experience assessment a firm has to run, which decides what the firm must warn about rather than whether the trade is allowed.

Key takeaways

  • A CFD settles the movement in price between the moment a contract is opened and the moment it is closed, settled in cash. The underlying asset is never owned.
  • Notional, margin and account equity are three separate numbers. Profit and loss follow the notional, not the deposit.
  • Overnight funding is charged on the full position value, not on the margin posted, so leverage raises the cost of carrying a position as well as its exposure.
  • Share CFDs receive a cash adjustment in place of a dividend, and that adjustment can be a debit on a short position.
  • Retail CFDs are not offered in the United States because of how leveraged retail transactions must be executed under federal law.
  • The 74 to 89 per cent retail loss range is a 2018 supervisory finding, not a live figure. The number that applies to you is the one your own provider publishes.

What a Contract for Difference Actually Is

A contract for difference is an agreement between a client and a provider to exchange the difference in the price of an asset between the moment a position is opened and the moment it is closed.

Nothing is delivered. Buying a share CFD does not make you a shareholder, and selling one does not require borrowing stock. The entire position is a cash settlement of a price difference. That difference is measured against the underlying market, which is where a share CFD price comes from.

Two consequences follow. Short positions are as straightforward as long ones, because there is no asset to locate and borrow. And the rights attached to ownership, principally voting and the legal claim on a dividend, do not come with the position.

The provider is the counterparty. That makes the financial standing and regulatory status of the firm part of the risk of the position, in a way it is not when an asset is held at a custodian. It also decides what happens when the underlying market is halted, since the exchange rule applies to the asset and not to your contract.

An exchange-traded contract is arranged the other way round, with a clearing house standing between the two sides, and the consequences of that one difference are set out where CFDs are compared with futures.

Notional, Margin and Equity Are Three Different Numbers

Published CFD examples routinely blur these, and one widely cited explainer presents the notional value of an oil position as the amount invested before showing the gain. Keeping them apart is most of what makes the instrument comprehensible.

NumberWhat it isWhat it drives
NotionalUnits held multiplied by the priceProfit and loss, and overnight funding
MarginThe portion of the notional the provider requires you to holdWhether the position can be opened and kept open
EquityThe money in the account, including unrealised profit and lossHow much adverse movement you can absorb

The relationship that matters is that gains and losses are computed on the notional while they are absorbed by the equity. A position whose notional is many times the equity can therefore lose a large fraction of the account on a small percentage move in the asset.

Hypothetical arithmetic, both directions: assume a position with a notional of 20,000 units of account currency, opened with 1,000 units of margin, in an account holding 2,000 units of equity.

A 5 per cent rise in the asset produces 1,000 units of profit, which is half the equity. A 5 per cent fall produces 1,000 units of loss, also half the equity. A 10 per cent adverse move produces 2,000 units of loss, which is the entire account. These figures follow only from the assumptions stated here.

Most published examples show the first of those three sentences and stop. The second and third describe the same position and are equally a consequence of the structure. Sizing a position so that the third case cannot occur is the subject of risk management, and the arithmetic linking margin to exposure is worked through in the leverage calculator.

How much margin is held also depends on the leverage schedule the broker applies, because a banded schedule prices each slice of a position separately. Our page on tiered leverage sets out that calculation.

The Costs: Spread, Commission and Overnight Funding

Three costs apply, and they behave differently from one another.

The spread is the gap between the price at which a position can be opened and the price at which the same position can be closed at that moment. It is charged once per round trip, in the sense that a position opened at the offer and closed at the bid pays it on entry and again on exit. It is a fixed cost of taking the position at all.

Commission is charged separately on some instruments, share CFDs most commonly, and is usually a percentage of the notional or a per-unit amount. Where a provider charges commission it generally quotes a tighter spread, so the two have to be compared together rather than separately. Both belong to the firm and the account tier rather than to the terminal, which is where choosing a CFD trading platform starts.

Overnight funding, sometimes called a financing charge or a swap, applies only to positions held past a daily cut-off time. It is the cost of the leverage itself, and it is the one cost that grows with time.

The price actually received when an order executes is a further consideration, particularly on fast markets, and is covered in slippage.

Why Overnight Funding Is Charged on the Whole Position

This is the mechanic most guides name and none of the readable ones explain.

A leveraged position is economically a financed one: the provider supplies the difference between the notional and the margin posted. The funding charge is the price of that difference, so it is computed on the full notional value of the position, not on the margin.

The consequence is that leverage raises the carrying cost in the same proportion as it raises the exposure. Doubling the notional against the same deposit doubles the daily funding charge as well as doubling the profit and loss. The same relationship governs perpetual futures, where the charge is passed between traders rather than to the provider.

Two further points follow. Funding is normally applied on a per-day basis, so one day each week attaches several days of charges at once where a weekend intervenes. And a short position is not automatically credited: the charge is built from a benchmark rate adjusted by the provider, and on many instruments both directions are debited.

What this means for holding periods: a spread is paid once, and funding is paid every night. On a position held for weeks rather than hours, funding rather than spread is usually the dominant cost, which is why comparing providers on spread alone misjudges the total for anything but short-term trading.

What One Position Actually Costs, Added Up

Four charges apply to a single position, and cost pages describe them one at a time. Added together they change which account is cheaper.

Take one standard lot of EURUSD, 100,000 units of the base currency, at an entity that publishes its numbers. A one-pip move on that size is worth 10 US dollars, so a spread quoted in pips converts straight into currency.

Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC publishes a typical EURUSD spread of 1.4 pips on Standard with no commission, and zero pips on Premier with 3.50 US dollars per side per lot. The Standard round trip therefore costs about 14 US dollars, all of it spread; the Premier round trip costs 7 US dollars, all of it commission.

Currency conversion, the third charge, applies only where a trade settles in a currency other than the account base currency, so on a US dollar account trading EURUSD it is nil. Admirals Europe Ltd is the one firm verified here publishing a rate, at 0.3 per cent.

The fourth charge is overnight funding, and none of these firms publishes a rate for it. On a position closed the same day it does not arise. On one held a week it accrues nightly on the full notional and decides the total, so a held position cannot be priced in advance at all.

The Same CFD Costs Different Amounts at Different Entities

A brand is not a price list. Most firms run several authorised entities, and an account holder deals with exactly one, named in the client agreement rather than on the page advertising the account.

Commission, inactivity charges, withdrawal charges and the leverage cap sit in entity-level documents, and the same brand publishes different numbers under different entities, or none at all. That is why a spread table compared across firms can be accurate and still not describe the account a reader would open.

The table below reads four entities across three brands. Ten of its twenty cells read Not disclosed, which is the finding and not a gap in the reading.

Cost componentXM Global Limited (Belize)Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd / XM UK LtdExness (SC) Ltd (Seychelles)Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC (UAE)
Published EURUSD spreadNot disclosed — only a site-wide “from 0.8 pips” claimNot disclosedNot disclosed — no figure published for any single pair0 pips (Premier), 1.4 pips (Standard), typical in the London and New York sessions
Commission, commission-based accountNot disclosed — the client agreement points to a schedule inside the platform7 US dollars per 100,000 US dollars of trade value (XM Zero)Up to 3.50 per side per lot (Raw Spread); none on Standard, Standard Cent, Pro3.50 per side per lot (Premier); none on Classic, Standard, Micro
Inactivity feeNot disclosed5 US dollars per monthNot disclosedNot disclosed — recorded as unpublished
Withdrawal feeNot disclosedNot disclosedNone from the firm; third-party charges borne by the client1 per cent capped at 30 US dollars; none on a local bank transfer; 30 US dollars international
Maximum leverageUp to 1:1000Not disclosed1:Unlimited, conditional on equity below 5,000 US dollars and 10 closed trades of 5 lotsUp to 1:500, set instrument by instrument rather than by account: the top cap covers gold and the three main dollar pairs, USDCHF is held at 1:100 and exotic pairs at 1:50

Figures verified against each broker’s own published terms on 2026-07-26.

What You Pay to Trade and What You Pay Just to Hold

Cost pages run both kinds of charge under one heading. They behave differently, and someone who trades rarely pays mostly the second.

Trading costs attach to a position: spread, commission and overnight funding. No position, no charge. They scale with size and, for funding, with time.

Holding costs attach to the account and accrue whether or not anything is traded, triggered by the absence of activity rather than its presence.

Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd charges 5 US dollars a month on an inactive account. Admirals Europe Ltd charges 10 euros a month after 24 months without trading activity.

Tickmill Ltd charges 10 US dollars, euros, pounds or Swiss francs, or 40 zloty, each quarter once an account is dormant, defined as 12 months and 10 days with a balance of 50 or less. Raw Trading Ltd publishes no inactivity fee, and the thresholds sit in what an account costs when trading stops.

Withdrawal charges belong to the same group. Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC publishes 1 per cent capped at 30 US dollars on most methods and nothing on a local bank transfer, while Exness (SC) Ltd charges nothing itself and passes on third-party charges; costs by payment route differ again. An account left open and unused carries a cost no spread comparison shows.

Dividend and Corporate Action Adjustments on Share CFDs

Only one of the readable sources reviewed for this page addresses this, and it matters to anyone holding share CFDs across a dividend date.

A share price typically falls by approximately the dividend amount when the stock goes ex-dividend. A CFD tracks the price, so without an adjustment a long position would lose that amount for no reason connected to the market.

Providers therefore apply a cash adjustment. A long position receives a credit approximating the dividend, and a short position is debited an amount approximating it. That debit surprises people who are short across an ex-dividend date and had not expected a cost.

The adjustment is not a dividend. It is a cash entry made by the provider, it may be net of a notional withholding, and it does not carry the tax treatment of dividend income. The same mechanics apply at index level, where dividend adjustments land on each constituent ex-date and one type of contract never receives them at all. Anyone holding CFDs for income rather than for a price view is using the wrong instrument.

Corporate actions such as splits, consolidations and rights issues are handled by adjusting the position, and providers set out their own approach in the contract terms rather than following a market-wide rule. A dated index or commodity contract raises a separate question, because there the adjustment arrives when a contract expires rather than on a corporate event.

Where CFDs Are Restricted and Why

Two of the three readable sources never raise this, and the third mentions only its own commercial restrictions.

Retail CFDs are not offered in the United States, and the reason is structural rather than a single prohibition.

Under the Commodity Exchange Act, leveraged, margined or financed retail commodity transactions must, absent an exception, be executed on a designated contract market registered with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Off-exchange arrangements with retail customers by firms outside the enumerated categories fall foul of the Act.

Separately, federal securities laws impose their own requirements on security-based swaps offered to retail investors.

An over-the-counter contract settled bilaterally between a client and a provider does not fit those requirements, so the instrument is not made available to US retail clients.

Elsewhere the instrument is permitted but constrained. The European Securities and Markets Authority restricted retail CFDs through its 2018 product intervention measures, and the constraint lands unevenly across instrument groups, which is the whole of forex against crypto CFDs for a retail client.

Those measures had five components: leverage limits by asset class, a margin close-out rule applied per account, negative balance protection per account, a prohibition on trading incentives, and a standardised risk warning carrying each firm’s own loss percentage. They were temporary, and national regulators subsequently adopted their own permanent equivalents.

The practical implication is that the protections attached to a CFD account depend on where the provider is authorised and which entity holds the account, not on the instrument. The same brand can offer materially different protection through different entities, and a UK entity may offer the identical exposure as a spread bet rather than as a CFD.

That pattern is at its clearest with synthetic indices, where the leverage published on the product only exists outside the EU and UK regimes described above.

What the Retail Loss Statistics Do and Do Not Tell You

A figure between 74 and 89 per cent circulates constantly, usually presented as the proportion of retail CFD accounts that lose money. It is worth being exact about where it comes from.

That range is drawn from analyses by national competent authorities cited in the European Securities and Markets Authority product intervention measures on CFDs and binary options, which applied to CFDs from August 2018. It is a supervisory finding from that period, not a live statistic, and it has been repeated ever since as though it described current conditions.

What replaced it is more useful. The standardised risk warning requires each firm to publish its own current percentage of retail accounts losing money. That figure is specific to the provider, is updated, and is displayed on the provider’s own materials.

So the number to look at is the one on the site of the firm being considered, not the range quoted in articles. Two providers can differ, and their figures say something about their client base and product mix that a decade-old range cannot.

One caution about reading any of them. The percentage counts accounts, not money, and it says nothing about how much was lost or over what period. It is a useful indication of base rates and a poor basis for any conclusion about an individual outcome.

Who CFDs Are Not For

CFDs suit a trader who wants short-term, two-directional exposure to a price, understands that the position is financed, and is sizing by notional rather than by deposit.

They do not suit anyone building a long-term holding. Funding accrues every night the position is open, so a multi-year holding pays for its leverage continuously while an owned asset does not.

They do not suit anyone seeking income. The dividend adjustment is a cash entry rather than a dividend, it can be a debit on a short position, and it does not carry the treatment of dividend income.

They do not suit anyone who wants the rights of ownership. No voting rights and no legal claim on the underlying come with the position.

They do not suit an account small enough that the minimum position on an instrument would put a large share of the equity at risk on an ordinary move. The relevant comparison is the notional against the equity, not the margin against the equity.

Anyone whose interest is in a specific asset class should also check whether a more suitable instrument exists in their jurisdiction. Where the underlying is a cryptocurrency, the particular characteristics are set out in crypto CFDs, and the mechanics of entering and protecting a position are covered in order types.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you own the underlying asset when you trade a CFD?

No. A contract for difference settles the movement in price between the moment the contract is opened and the moment it is closed, settled in cash, and nothing is delivered. That means no voting rights and no legal claim on a dividend, and it also means a short position needs no stock to be borrowed. The provider is the counterparty to the contract.

How is overnight funding on a CFD calculated?

It is charged on the full notional value of the position rather than on the margin posted, because the provider is financing the difference between the two. It is built from a benchmark rate adjusted by the provider, applied per day to positions still open at a daily cut-off, and on many instruments both long and short positions are debited rather than one being credited.

Why can US retail traders not open CFD accounts?

Under the Commodity Exchange Act, leveraged retail commodity transactions must generally be executed on a designated contract market registered with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. A bilateral over-the-counter contract does not meet that requirement, so providers do not offer the instrument to US retail clients.

What does the retail loss percentage on a provider website mean?

It is the current percentage of retail client accounts at that firm that lose money, published under a standardised risk warning requirement. It is specific to that provider and is updated, unlike the 74 to 89 per cent range widely quoted in articles, which comes from supervisory analyses cited in 2018 product intervention measures. The figure counts accounts rather than amounts.

Do share CFDs pay dividends?

Not as dividends. Providers apply a cash adjustment when a stock goes ex-dividend, crediting long positions an amount approximating the dividend and debiting short positions. It may be net of a notional withholding and it does not carry the tax treatment of dividend income, so a CFD is not a substitute for holding a share for income.

What does it actually cost to open and hold one CFD position?

On one standard lot of EURUSD at Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC, the Standard account prices the round trip at about 14 US dollars and Premier at 7. Neither figure covers overnight funding, for which none of the firms verified here publishes a rate, so a position held overnight cannot be priced from published terms.

Does the same broker charge the same CFD costs everywhere?

No. Charges are set by the authorised entity holding the account, not by the brand. XM publishes a commission of 7 US dollars per 100,000 US dollars of trade value and a 5 US dollar monthly inactivity fee for its European and United Kingdom entities, while the client agreement of XM Global Limited points instead to a schedule inside the platform. Read the entity named in the agreement before comparing any figure.

Sources checked 31 July 2026: European Securities and Markets Authority, product intervention measures on contracts for differences and binary options, applying to CFDs from 1 August 2018, for the 74 to 89 per cent range drawn from national competent authority analyses and for the five components of the restriction, including the standardised risk warning carrying each firm’s own loss percentage; those measures were temporary and were followed by national measures adopted by individual regulators. United States Commodity Futures Trading Commission guidance on retail commodity transactions and off-exchange foreign currency trading under the Commodity Exchange Act, for the requirement that leveraged, margined or financed retail commodity transactions be executed on a registered designated contract market absent an exception. Broker figures on this page come from the EasyTradeWeb broker verification record of 26 July 2026, which reads the account terms, client agreements and costs-and-charges documents of XM, Exness, Equiti, Admirals, Tickmill and IC Markets entity by entity. A cell reading Not disclosed means no figure is published for that entity. No overnight funding rate is quoted anywhere on this page, because none of those documents publishes one. Every worked figure on this page is arithmetic from an assumption labelled hypothetical where it is used.

Disclaimer: This article is educational only and is not investment advice, and it is not an encouragement to trade contracts for difference. A CFD is a complex, leveraged instrument on which money can be lost quickly; losses are calculated on the full position size and can exceed the amount deposited unless negative balance protection applies to your account. The protections available depend on where your provider is authorised and which entity holds your account. Verify current terms, costs and protections with your provider and its regulator before trading, consider your objectives and, if needed, seek independent advice.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.